Academic Advising

Lower secondary in UK Qualifications ( Grades 7 & 8)

Grades 7 and 8 in the British System

Are you interested in setting a path for your child to study and be employed in every single state around the world?

In Lower Secondary British System, it develops the knowledge in Mathematics, English and Science.

What is it?

The lower secondary in the British system is considered as a transitional period for the student to adopt in the British system.

It is consists of grades 7 and 8 which is equivalent to awla ea’dadi and Tania ea’dadi.

In these stages children set for exam “Checkpoint” by the end of grade 8 that is marked by Cambridge International Examination (CIE) and it develops Mathematics, English and Science, students also pursue French, I.T, Art, Music , Ethics as well as Physical Education lessons together with the three core subjects. Checkpoint tests have designed to assess learners at the end of the Lower Secondary. The curriculum is taught over the two years in grades 7 and 8, and the exam is in grade 8. Thus grade 7’s final exam is produced from the school not from the CIE.

For each of the three subjects, each student receives two documents; one is a statement of achievement which gives the student’s overall results while the other is a report which provides further details on the student’s performance.

What are Checkpoint tests like?

There are two papers in each subject, each approximately one hour in length. They provide good preparation for Cambridge IGCSE or O-Level examinations, by allowing students to experience an external exam. It is graded from 0 to 6 and there is no failure in it.



How is it helpful?

The main benefit that will be achieved is the fact that the student will be prepared for IGCSEs/International GCSEs. Also, it provides the student with the modern type of teaching.

How is it different from IGCSEs?

The main difference that Checkpoint is not formal qualification unlike the IGCSEs, a Statement of Achievement is produced.

It is mainly a preparation for the International GCSE.

**Schools use the Cambridge tests along with the national curriculum (Arabic, Religion, and Social Studies) to meet firstly the statutory requirements in Egypt. And thus they won’t have a problem in shifting back to national or American system if they want to.



To Top